The New Reality

For some reason I was caught thinking today about Meredith, and never having her in my life again. The thought occurred to me that maybe there was a reason for her to show up and disappear. She taught me about myself. She opened up a side of me I didn’t know was there. 

Perhaps she was like Obi-wan. She came into my life to teach me about things that were always there. When the teaching was near complete she was gone. 

In that sense I wouldn’t need her anymore. I can now use the wisdom I gained from being with her to carry on my own life. There was much that I learned too. I’m finding that as I go through counseling and keep saying “that I learned from being with Meredith.” Once you know a new reality it is impossible to not know it. Meredith helped me uncover my own new reality. 

Rather than be sad or upset by losing her I should cherish the time we spent, however short it was. Someday perhaps even thanking her for the gift she brought me. Being freed from my own ignorance of myself is a wonderful gift. Even if it comes with the pain of that new reality. 

5 thoughts on “The New Reality

  1. WOW.

    “Perhaps she was like Obi-wan. She came into my life to teach me about things that were always there. When the teaching was near complete she was gone.”

    I too had an Obi-wan, my Dom taught me more than I can list and now he’s gone. That analogy just created a revelation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YES!!! And THIS is exactly how I feel about TheMaster, although we’re not defined into existing together or not. My biggest feeling toward him is one of eternal gratitude for helping me see me and find out about me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s kind of interesting isn’t it? Once you see it much if your past starts to make sense. There was always this other side of you that you couldn’t explain. Now you know and it provides a confidence and stability in your mind. You know who you are.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

