Chasing the dog

Today my little girl was chasing our dog around the house with tongs. She’s not fast enough to catch him, and he thinks it’s a fun game. It was really great to watch. Good exercise for both of them, and lots of laughing as she went round and round the island.

You see it is in moments like that when I think about the effects of divorce. The moments missed. There are dozens if not hundreds of these little moments through the day. All of those little moments are what really make up life in a family. How will it be if I’m missing those moments?

Generally the mother gets majority custody. If I were to leave, my wife would get 75% or more of the time with my daughter and son. I would get the remainder. That is a lot to lose. I don’t want to lose time with my family.

This is a lot to consider. I’m going to have to spend more time on this.

3 thoughts on “Chasing the dog

  1. I think that situation, and others, are the main reasons people stay married when the relationship is “good enough”.

    One question is…
    How much are you willing to sacrifice for the pursuit of happiness… to feel whole?

    Not an easy decision at all.
    Makes me want to give you a hug.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

